Karaoke!

I had the best day yesterday, I got to go to an all you can drink and eat happy hour and finally did Karaoke (カラオケ). After a long day of orientation, some of the Epals offered to take us to dinner at 6. I was a couple minutes late and one group was leaving to go eat; I was wondering why we weren’t all going to the same place, but I quickly found out why. My Epal was in the second group, and they were going somewhere you could drink. I definitely picked the right group! We got there and I still didn’t know exactly what was going on, but then all the Epals where saying 2000 yen for all you can drink for 2 hours. I did this last time in Japan and it’s a great deal. However, this time we got a plethora of food (some pictures of the dish sizes at the bottom).

Huge!

Huge!

The plates where huge and we got a ton of food and drinks! It’s was a great time and everyone was cheering and shouting. We then told them that we wanted to do Karaoke, and everyone downed their drinks to get that last bit of liquid courage and we where off to Karaoke. I think there are different types of Karaoke places in Japan, but the one we went to had rooms for groups of people to go in and sing. It definitely helps to have a local when doing any of this stuff cause they know how much everything is and can talk to the store clerks. So everyone had a nice buzz going and we went and sung our hearts out! It was surprising how many western songs they knew and I had great time singing to Taylor Swift, Nicki Minaj, and Justin Timberlake. The machine had almost any song you could think of, and you just used a tablet thing to choose any sing you’d like, you could search in English and we were all choosing songs to sing. Overall I had a lot of fun and finally got to do Karaoke in Japan, next on my list is hitting up a legit Sushi bar!

One comment

  1. tashastraveltroves · March 28, 2013

    lovely post. i really enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

